Posted in | News | Laser | Optics and Photonics

OSA Honors 2010 Maiman Competition and Distinguished Service Award Winners

The OSA Foundation today held a special luncheon honoring past and present winners of OSA and OSA Foundation awards and medals.

Held at the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics and the Quantum Electronics and Laser Science Conference (CLEO/QELS) this week in San Jose, Calif., the Foundation announced Brendan Reagan of Colorado State University as the winner of the Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition and recognized three OSA Foundation board members as recent recipients of OSA’s Distinguished Service Award—Gary Bjorklund (2010), Stephen Fantone (2007), and Alexander Sawchuck (2004).

“Since 1929, 690 prizes and medals have been awarded by OSA,” said G. Michael Morris, OSA Foundation chairman. “These named programs provide a wonderful opportunity to honor the work or memory of a member of our community, and provide a lasting way to recognize on-going achievements in the field. The many paper competitions, grant and scholarship programs established through the OSA Foundation extend this tradition of recognition to the next generation of leaders and innovators.”

Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition

Brendan Reagan was named the 2010 Maiman Competition winner for his paper titled “Soft X-Ray Laser Pumped by a Joule-Class, All-Diode-Pumped Laser System.” Reagan was one of 21 Maiman Competition semi-finalists that were selected from a record 944 student paper submissions. The papers were reviewed and scored by the CLEO/QELS technical program committee and semi-finalists were selected based on standard CLEO/QELS paper review criteria. The top three semi-finalists presented their research at CLEO/QELS and were judged based on innovation, research excellence and presentation ability.

Honorable mentions went to Bernardo Kyotoku of both Cornell University and Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil for his paper titled “Cavity enhanced on-chip spectrometer with sub-nm resolution” and to Christina Olausson of the Institute for Laser Science at the University of Electro-Communications in Japan, NKT Photonics A/S in Denmark and the Department of Photonics Engineering at the Technical University of Denmark for her paper titled “167 W, 1178 nm Ytterbium-Doped Photonic Bandgap Fiber Amplifier with Power Scalability.”

Now in its second year, the Maiman Student Paper Competition honors American physicist Theodore Maiman for his amazing invention, the first working laser (which celebrated its 50th anniversary May 16, 2010), and his other outstanding contributions to optics and photonics. It recognizes student innovation and research excellence in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics. The award is endowed by a grant from HRL Laboratories LLC, the IEEE Photonics Society and the APS Division of Laser Science and is administered by the OSA Foundation.

Distinguished Service Awards

Of the last four OSA Distinguished Service Award winners, three have been presented to OSA Foundation Board members.  This year’s winner, Gary Bjorklund, founding chair of the OSA Foundation and 1998 OSA president, received the award for his long and distinguished service to the optics profession, including extraordinary leadership in guiding the OSA Foundation through its initial years and leading it to an impressive set of accomplishments.  In 2007, Stephen D. Fantone received the award for his outstanding service to the optical community and to OSA, for his outstanding vision, leadership and service in setting the financial policies and procedures for the society that provide financial stability and opportunity for the foreseeable future.  He is the founder and president of Optikos Corporation, and has served as OSA’s treasurer since 1996 and treasurer of the OSA Foundation board since its inception. Alexander Sawchuk was the Distinguished Service Award winner in 2004, cited for his 23 years of dedicated service to the Optical Society, including vital contributions to publications, meetings, international relations, and general governance.  Sawchuk is the vice chair of the OSA Foundation and a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Southern California.

“We are thrilled to have so many dedicated volunteers serve on the OSA Foundation board,” said Morris.  “Gary, Steve and Sandy have served OSA and the Foundation with passion, leadership and ingenuity for several decades combined.  We congratulate them on their award and thank them for invaluable service.”

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1973 by the OSA Board of Directors. It is presented to individuals who, over an extended period of time, have served the Optical Society in an outstanding way, especially through volunteer participation in its management, operation or planning in such ways as editorship of a periodical, organization of meetings, or other service to the society. The award is endowed by contributions from individual members and by the American Optical Corporation in memory of Stephen M. MacNeille. The award is usually presented in even-numbered years only.



Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    Optical Society Of America. (2019, March 01). OSA Honors 2010 Maiman Competition and Distinguished Service Award Winners. AZoOptics. Retrieved on May 26, 2024 from

  • MLA

    Optical Society Of America. "OSA Honors 2010 Maiman Competition and Distinguished Service Award Winners". AZoOptics. 26 May 2024. <>.

  • Chicago

    Optical Society Of America. "OSA Honors 2010 Maiman Competition and Distinguished Service Award Winners". AZoOptics. (accessed May 26, 2024).

  • Harvard

    Optical Society Of America. 2019. OSA Honors 2010 Maiman Competition and Distinguished Service Award Winners. AZoOptics, viewed 26 May 2024,

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.