Posted in | News | Optics and Photonics

OSA Announces Election of 77 OSA Members as Newest Class of OSA Fellows

Recognizing members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics, The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that 77 OSA members have been elected as the newest class of OSA Fellows. Fellows of The Optical Society are elected based on their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics and are selected based on several factors, including specific scientific, engineering, and technological contributions, a record of significant publications or patents related to optics, technical or industry leadership in the field as well as service to OSA and the global optics community.

“The 2016 Fellows are excellent examples of leaders and innovators in the field of optics and photonics,” said Philip Russell, President, The Optical Society. “Being named a Fellow of The Optical Society was one of the most unforgettable moments of my career and The Optical Society is honored to recognize the outstanding service and contributions of the 2016 class of Fellows.”

The OSA Fellow Members Committee reviews nominations submitted by current OSA Fellows and then recommends candidates to the OSA Board of Directors. No more than 10 percent of the total OSA membership may be chosen as Fellows, making the process both highly selective and competitive. As a reflection of The Optical Society’s global reach, 60 percent of this year’s Fellows reside outside the United States.

“Thank you to the Fellows Members Committee, led by Tim Carrig, Lockheed Martin Coherent Technologies, USA, for reviewing the highest number of submissions received to-date," said Elizabeth Rogan, CEO, The Optical Society. “The 2016 class of OSA Fellows reflects a group of talented, accomplished members. We are honored to recognize them as leaders in the field of optics and photonics.”

The new Fellows will be honored at OSA conferences and meetings throughout 2016. In addition to their recognition, Fellows may apply for travel grants to visit and lecture in developing countries and may nominate OSA members for Fellow consideration. A listing of all 77 new Fellows appears below:

2016 OSA Fellow Members

  • Alejandro Aceves, Southern Methodist University, United States
  • Herzl Aharoni, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
  • Les Allen, United Kingdom
  • David Andrews, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
  • José Azaña, INRS-Energie Materiaux et Telecom, Canada
  • Vanderlei Bagnato, Universidade de São Paulo Instituto de Fisica de São Carlos, Brazil
  • Ole Bang, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark
  • Mikhail A. Belkin, University of Texas at Austin, United States
  • Jens Biegert, ICFO -The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain
  • Richard Blaikie, University of Otago, New Zealand
  • Michael Brodsky, US Army Research Laboratory, United States
  • Pavel Cheben, National Research Council Canada, Canada
  • Stéphane Coen, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Jürgen Czarske, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
  • Jérôme Faist, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Thomas Feurer, Institute of Applied Physics, Switzerland
  • Eric R. Fossum, Dartmouth College, United States
  • Andrea Galtarossa, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy
  • Amir Gandjbakhche, National Institutes of Health, United States
  • Irene Georgakoudi, Tufts University, United States
  • Reuven Gordon, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Pradeep Kumar Gupta, Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, India
  • Nobuyuki Hashimoto, Citizen Holdings Co., LTD, Japan
  • Jian-Jun He, Zhejiang University, China
  • Elizabeth M. C. Hillman, Columbia University, United States
  • Ray-Hua Horng, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan
  • Ilko K. Ilev, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, United States
  • Peter Uhd Jepsen, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark
  • Thomas J. Karr, DARPA/STO, United States
  • Sanjay Krishna, Center for High Technology Materials, University of New Mexico, United States
  • Cedric F. Lam, Google, United States
  • Kirill V. Larin, University of Houston, United States
  • Sin-Doo Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • Rainer Leitgeb, Medical University Vienna, Austria
  • Karl Leo, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
  • Anne L'Huillier, Lund University, Sweden
  • Jingyu Lin, Texas Tech University, United States
  • Ai-Qun Liu, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Qing Huo Liu, Duke University, United States
  • Zhaowei Liu, University of California, San Diego, United States
  • Peixiang Lu, Huazhong Univ of Science and Technology, China
  • Yan-qing Lu, Nanjing University, China
  • John Marsh, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Cristina Masoller, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Benjamin J. McCall, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
  • Fedor Mitschke, Universität Rostock, Germany
  • Richard Moncorgé, Université de Caen, France
  • Stefan Nolte, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena and Fraunhofer IOF, Germany
  • Takashige Omatsu, Chiba University, Japan
  • Jian-Wei Pan, USTC, China
  • Q-Han Park, Korea University, South Korea
  • Carsten Rockstuhl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Clint L. Schow, University of California Santa Barbara, United States
  • L. Brandon Shaw, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
  • David D. Smith, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, United States
  • H. Philip Stahl, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, United States
  • Dan M. Stamper-Kurn, University of California Berkeley, United States
  • Günter Steinmeyer, Max Born Institute, Germany
  • David Stork, Rambus Inc., United States
  • Koji Sugioka, RIKEN, Japan
  • Andrey A. Sukhorukov, Australian National University, Australia
  • Hwa-yaw Tam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Masahito Tomizawa, Nippon Telegraph & Telephone Corp., Japan
  • Bruce J. Tromberg, University of California Irvine, United States
  • Valery V. Tuchin, Saratov State University, Russia
  • Peter J. Veitch, University of Adelaide, Australia
  • David G. Voelz, New Mexico State University, United States
  • Jelena Vuckovic, Stanford University, United States
  • Edo Waks, University of Maryland at College Park, United States
  • Valeriy Yashchuk, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States
  • Wenbing Yun, Sigray, Inc., United States
  • Philippe Zeitoun, Ecole Polytechnique ENSTA, France
  • Heping Zeng, East China Normal University, China
  • Mourad Zghal, University of Carthage, Tunisia
  • Shuang Zhang, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Xin Zhang, Boston University, United States
  • Quing Zhu, University of Connecticut, United States


Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.