Editorial Feature

What is Optical Aberration and Types of Optical Aberration?


Image Credit: REDPIXEL.PL/Shutterstock.com

Optical aberration can be considered as a flaw or distortion in the image generated by an optical system, such as a lens or mirror, in comparison to the original image. Optical aberration may arise from several factors such as limitations or defects in optical components.

There are six types of optical aberration:

  • Astigmatism
  • Chromatic Aberration
  • Coma
  • Distortion
  • Field Curvature
  • Spherical Aberration

An ideal lens should focus on an input parallel light beam to a perfect focal point. The focal point should then have infinite size. Unfortunately, in the real world, due to diffraction and importantly lens aberrations, the focal point or spot of a lens is finite in size.

The degree of lens aberration and diffraction can, therefore, be measured by the size of the focal point or spot.

This article was updated on the 28th January, 2020

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this article?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.